Mama Bear (Blog #2)

love

[luhv]

noun

1.

a profoundly tender, passionate affection for another person.
2.

a feeling of warm personal attachment or deep affection, as for a parent, child, or friend.
This is what Dictionary.com tells those who search the internet to find a definition of love made out of words. But love isn’t just words. You can see love worked out in front of you is you look for it. You can hear it if you listen for it. You can feel it in the hugs your Mommy gives you. It is because of a Mommy that I write this post about love.
When life leaves you high and dry
I’ll be at your door tonight
If you need help, if you need help.
I’ll shut down the city lights,
I’ll lie, cheat, I’ll beg and bribe
To make you well, to make you well.When enemies are at your door
I’ll carry you away from war
If you need help, if you need help.
Your hope dangling by a string
I’ll share in your suffering
To make you well, to make you well.

Phil Phillips- Gone, gone, gone
My friend’s Mama Bear went to be with Jesus today. Her Mommy. The woman who her taught her to walk, who encouraged her in her dream of being a photographer. Her Mommy who held her when she cried, put colorful band aids on her boo-boo’s, showed her the wonders of Disney World, and kissed her tears away late at night. This Mommy, this warrior of light in the form of a mother, fought her last battle, heard the voice of her Heavenly Father say, “Well done, my good and faithful servant.” Now she is clothed in light. She is dancing in front of our Lord. Now, in a body of perfection, she walks on the shore with her mother and friends. It is the love of her Savior and her faith in Him, that has brought her to this shore, made her perfect, danced with her, and clothed her.
Her love for her family can be seen in the faces of her children, on the walls of her home, in the smiles of her grandson. In honor of Mama Bear, who I am sure tok the time and patience to see, taste, feel, hear, and soak in the love around her, I pray that you will do the same. See, notice, revel in what others do for you and others because they love you.
Today, for me, love has been spending 5 minutes with my brother this morning before I dropped him off at the chicken houses.
Love is when you smile for a picture for Mommy at 9:52pm.
I know love when I hear Daddy ask for the Comet so he can scrub the bath tub before Mommy takes a bubble bath.
I know love when my brother, who I was with this morning, asks me when I get home how my stomach is because he took the time to notice this morning that I wasn’t well.
I know love when I walk into a warm house and am embraced by thin, brown arms that squeeze around my waist and my backpack because she is glad I am home. And I am, too.
I am glad to be back inside the walls that protect and comfort the people who taught me to love, who love me, and who I love.
Today the love I feel for these people, my family, my brothers, sisters, my Mommy, my Daddy, hurts inside me.
It hurts because, I think for the first time, I have realized that one day, I will still love them and they will be gone.
The love that binds us now, the love that binds you to those around you, is precious. It is sacred.
Give extra hugs. Laugh hard. Cry with them. Hold them when they cry. Slow dance with them in the kitchen in front of your children. Share a milkshake with them.
And tell them, “I’ll love you long after you’re gone
And long after you’re gone, gone, gone.” Phil Phillips
Leave a Reply

